Radical Caribbean SR3 Cup

The Radical Caribbean SR3 Cup is the region’s premier one-make racing category in which all competitors race in identical 1340cc SR3s. 

The championship was established at Bushy Park in Barbados but visits circuits in Trinidad and Guyana also, with a truly multinational roster of drivers, many of whom dovetailing their Caribbean Cup campaigns with outing in Radicals other international series.

Due to the warm Caribbean climate, the series enjoys a longer season than many other championships, with rounds commencing in February and the finale in November.

The fastest race cars in the region

The Radical Caribbean SR3 Cup first ran in 2018, a four-round series contested at head-lining race meetings in Barbados, Guyana and Trinidad & Tobago. The launch of the regional competition followed three successful seasons of the Barbados-based Suzuki Challenge Series (SCS), which also hosted the off-season Radical Carnival for three years, attracting drivers from Europe and the United States.

Regional motor sport rivalry is nothing new – racing drivers and motorcyclists have fought for supremacy for six decades or more, something which surprises many who see cricket as the major sport in the West Indies. Organised racing and rallying has existed since the 1950s, with travel between the territories common even in the early years, long before the phrase ‘sports tourism’ was coined.

Although the dates are yet to be confirmed, the 2019 series will be expanded to five rounds, with three races over each weekend. The venues will host rounds in the same order as last year, starting with the Frankie Boodram Wallerfield International Raceway in Trinidad & Tobago, followed by Bushy Park Barbados, with the final at South Dakota in Guyana. At 2.01 kilometres, Bushy Park International is the longest, while each circuit presents a different driver challenge. 

A total of 73 SR3 Cup races had been run in the Caribbean by the end of 2018, with Stuart Maloney crowned the inaugural regional Champion, his title a long time coming for the only driver not to have missed a race. He also tops the race-winners table, with 17, three ahead of his brother Sean (Overall Champion in 2015-’16), with Suleman Esuf (Overall Champion in 2016-’17 and 2017) third on 12 wins. While he is only fourth on the race-winners table with 10, the third Maloney brother Mark dominates the other stats, with 38 additional podiums and record numbers of pole positions (8) and fastest laps (21). Another eight of the 34 drivers who have competed are race-winners, led by Guyana’s Kristian Jeffrey, with seven; the 2017 Winter Champion, he spent the last two seasons in the UK Radical Challenge Championship, finishing 2018 in fourth place.

The series is administered by Bushy Park Circuit Inc (BPCI), which was appointed sole distributor for Radical Sportscars in the Caribbean at the end of 2017. The company liaises with the Organising Clubs in each of the host countries to ensure a level playing field for all competitors and is responsible for co-ordinating the shipping of cars around the region, along with the technical support team and spares package.

Race Calendar

All Radical Championships

SR1 Cup Championship

The Radical SR1 Cup is the UK's fastest and most exciting club racing championship which makes racing prototype style sportscars more accessible than ever before...

Challenge Championship

The Radical Challenge Championship was born out of our longstanding UK series to offer a more diverse racing weekend than ever before. Featuring Radical’s best-selling SR3 RSX model...

Australia Cup

The Radical Australia Cup is an exciting six round championship. In its eleventh season of the popular one-make prototype Series, organisers RA Motorsports have signed a new...

Canada Cup

The Radical Canada Cup builds on the successful history of one make championships in Canada and Radical racing around the world. Now entering its seventh season...

Gulf Radical Cup

The first season of the Gulf Radical Cup kicked off in January 2006, since when it has become the longest running race series in the region. It has attracted more than 100 amateur racing drivers...

Scandinavia Cup

The Scandinavia Cup consists of six race weekends across some of Europe's most northern circuits. Radical Cup Scandinavia is home to the largest sports car series in Scandinavia.

Radical Caribbean Cup

The Radical Caribbean Cup is the region’s premier one-make racing category in which all competitors race in identical 1340cc SR3s. Established at Bushy Park...

Radical Cup Asia

Following seven years of success in the UK with the fantastic SR1 catering for drivers of all ages, the Radical Asia Cup was born utilising the same grassroots concept...

Radical Cup North America

The Blue Marble Cocktails Radical Cup North America is the continent’s premier Radical championship, and offers multi-class Le Mans style racing for a fraction of the price at iconic circuits...

Nevada Cup

Radical Iberia brings back the legendary Nevada Cup, the Radical winter series in southern Spain from November 2019 to February 2020.

Radical Night of Champions

Join us for the perfect celebration of the 2019 season at the Belfry Hotel & Golf Resort, as we celebrate you and your teams’ accomplishments whilst looking forward to 2020's competition.