Radical Night of Champions – 2018 Stars Crowned

Radical Night of Champions – 2018 Stars Crowned

Back to the news

The stars of the 2018 Radical Sportscars season were celebrated last Saturday, 19 January, during the marque’s prestigious Night of Champions event, held at the world-famous Belfrey golf hotel and resort in Birmingham, UK.

Drivers, guests and sponsors gathered for the high-profile event, hosted by leading broadcaster Alan Hyde, to honour the champions from Radical’s pyramid of racing categories. A host of special awards also recognised other significant performances and achievements by teams and individuals who have excelled in their own field, or made special contributions to the paddock over the year. 

Representatives of Radical’s core partners were also in attendance – with Motor Sport Director Europe Manfred Sandbichler representing Hankook Tyres, Axel Hildebrand and Jasmine Kirkby from the Anglo American Oil Company and Nick Turner, Business Development Manager for lubricants partner Motul.

Sandbichler was on-hand to present the awards for the European Masters competitors. While Mark Crader and Alex Mortimer won the Supersports class, Crader also took the overall champions’ award alongside co-driver Stuart Moseley, who collected the trophy in his co-driver’s absence.

Hildebrand had the honour of handing over the awards for Radical’s premier domestic championship – the SR3-based Challenge. Peter Tyler and Tom Gladdis received their award for topping the Team Challenge class – for two driver entries – while Dominik Jackson picked up his trophy for winning the Solo Challenge.

The foundation SR1 Cup enjoyed a strong year, with growing grids and close competition. Radical’s Business Development Manager, Nick Turner presented overall champion James Pinkerton with his award, as well as Will Hunt with the Rookie Cup and David Tagg with the Fangio Trophy – for drivers aged over 45.

One of the highlights of the night was the raft of special awards handed out across the championships. Scrutineers Phil and Rob Mason took the Drivers’ Award, as voted for by the panel of professional drivers, in recognition of their indispensable services to Radical racing for over a decade.

SR3 racer Brian Murphy’s Orwin Racing team were presented with the Privateers’ Award for outstanding podium performance for a small team.

Together with his Challenge trophy, Dominik Jackson was also presented with the Clerk’s Award – for upholding exceptional sportsmanship across the season.

Scorpio Motorsport was presented with the Technical Award for expanding its operations to run multiple cars across both UK championships, taking SR1 Cup driver Will Hunt to this year’s Rookie title as well as competing in Radical Challenge. 

Hunt’s SR1 Rookie Class rival Chris Short was presented with the 2018 Outstanding Achievement Award for his efforts on-track, which included some battling drives to outright podium finishes.

Sunoco’s popular Fastest Lap Awards were shared by Stuart Moseley (European Masters) and Dominik Jackson (Challenge), who completed a memorable hat-trick of silverware on the night.

The final award of the evening inducted a new driver into the Radical Hall of Fame. Created to recognise some of the most competitive, dedicated and longstanding Radical competitors, Radical Directors Andreas Zielke and Jan Osterloh proudly awarded Steve Burgess with the honour. Burgess began racing a Radical over a decade ago in the Clubmans Cup, winning the championship in 2014 before going on to lift the Radical Challenge title in 2016 and rank runner-up in both 2017 and 2018. Burgess is truly a worthy candidate for recognition.

Summarising the Night of Champions, Radical Championship Coordinator Carly Latcham said: “The Night of Champions is always a brilliant event, gathering all of Radical’s drivers, teams, sponsors, staff and volunteers who all help make our race weekends so special. There’s always a great family atmosphere, which is something that’s so special to the company.

“Celebrating our champions on stage is great, and the series of special awards act to pick out some of the outstanding performers from within our racing community. 2018 was a very strong season, but that doesn’t stop us from aiming higher for 2019 while continuing to offer the type of cost-effective, close and friendly racing that Radical has become famous for.”

Radical Championship Awards 2018 - Who won what?

SR1 Cup
Fangio Trophy:
Second: Paul Clark
First: David Tagg
Rookie Cup: Will Hunt
Third: Will Hunt
Second: Ryan Harper-Ellam
First: James Pinkerton

Radical Challenge
Team Challenge
Third: Adrian & Joe Watt
Second: John Caudwell & Stuart Moseley
First: Peter Tyler & Tom Gladdis
Solo Challenge
Third: Jerôme de Sadeleer
Second: Steve Burgess
First: Dominik Jackson

European Masters
First: Mark Crader & Alex Mortimer
Third: Andrew & Jeremy Ferguson
Second: Louis Hamilton-Smith & Theodor Olsen
First: Mark Crader & Stuart Moseley

Special Awards
Sunoco Fastest Lap: Stuart Moseley (European Masters); Dominik Jackson (Challenge)
Drivers’ Award: Phil and Rob Mason
Privateers’ Award: Brian Murphy, Orwin Racing
Scrutineer's Award: Avidity Motorsport
Clerk’s Award: Dominik Jackson
Technical Award: Scorpio Motorsport
Outstanding Achievement: Chris Short

Radical Hall of Fame 2018: Steve Burgess